Privilege

DSC_0362

What an amazing opportunity our family has to serve our Lord with MAF in Indonesia. I was doing my 11th and last training flight before I start my maintenance standardization. My instructor and I stopped at a dirt strip and we set up cones to simulate a 1,100′ airstrip. This is the shortest runway we can operate at while retaining our safety margin (we have to be able to land and stop using only 60% of the useable runway). We finished practicing and were picking up the cones when I was reminded of the tremendous privilege it is serving with MAF. For decades, MAF has been striving to bring the good news to the ends of the earth and making disciples of every tribe, tongue, and nation. And we get to be a part of it! We get to use our God-given gifts and talents, using state-of-the-art technology, to fly into remote areas and bring light where there was once only darkness!

WAHOO!!!

I have seen some crazy pictures of runways and remote villages and I am humbled to think that I will be entrusted with the keys to an airplane in order to bring (and be) the good news. What a privilege! What a privilege to have men and women who love us and support us with their resources. What a privilege to have men and women praying for our family and following our blog. What a privilege to serve the King wherever He would call us. We are blown away. Thank you so very much!

As I mentioned above, I have finished the flight portion of Standardization (up to when we take a 4 day trip to the Idaho backcountry) and will start the maintenance portion on Wednesday. I have learned a lot and come a long way in terms of flying according to MAF procedures as well as improving as a pilot. I had the chance to land on really short runways and runways that ran up the side of hills. I had the opportunity to fly less than a hundred feet from mountain sides and learned that trying to stop on wet grass is like trying to stop on a slip and slide. (The wheels stop but the plane keeps moving!) I wish I could tell you about everything I have learned but you’ll just have to trust me. (CLICK HERE TO WATCH A NEW VIDEO OF SOME OF MY FLYING)

We are doing well as a family. We are getting good time together and doing our best to explore Boise. We are getting to know our fellow missionaries and it has been fun to encourage one another and dream about what our futures will bring. Thank you for your love and prayers. In case you were wondering, here’s how you can continue to pray:

  • Pray for the Visa process. We applied for our Indonesian Visas in March and we are praying that they will come in this July so we can leave for language school in August.
  • Pray that God would unite our family and fill us with His Spirit. We know that the enemy does not want us to succeed in our mission and will try to attack us on the home front.
  • Pray that I would learn a lot in the maintenance training. I do not have as much experience working on planes and I want to learn as much as I can!

Thanks and God Bless!

DSC_0343

DSC_0027

DSC_0051

DSC_0337

DSC_0313

DSC_0286

2 thoughts on “Privilege

  1. Phil& Jess,
    We are so fortunate to be a part of your team. We thank you for the blogs that help us to keep you in prayer . We love you all. R&C

Leave a Reply

