Preparation

DSC_0526

There are a number of things that we have to do before we leave for MAF Standardization training. First and foremost is moving out of our house and organizing all of our belongings. It has been an interesting week as we have opened every box and taken stock of our various belongings. It is amazing how difficult it can be to get rid of some of our stuff! I have birthday cards from 6 years ago stashed in random drawers. I have pictures that are out of focus but I remember exactly where they were taken so I hold on for no reason. (I have not looked at these photos once in 10 years, but I am sure I will want to show my kids some day and tell them the story) I have 2 film cameras that I haven’t used and will not use again, but I have kept them! What is this? Is there a name for this “disease” in which I want to save random things and can’t seem to let them go? Why is there a tugging at my soul when I want to get rid a shirt I haven’t worn…EVER?!?!

So, we are working as a team and Jessica is helping me loosen my grip on the junk that has a grip on me! The house is about 60% packed up but I pretend that it is already at 85%.  We have purchased plastic totes and multi-colored duct tape to determine where each box will go. We have a huge pile of items that will be sold or donated in the next few days. (Shameless plug: We are having a garage sale this Saturday from 7:30-4:00. We will be at 3626 Allegrini Ct) Our boys are sleeping in portable cribs and we pack them up each day so they can nap in the house while we work.

Even though this is a difficult and painstaking process I am excited we are doing it. I am glad to trim the fat and get rid of things that we don’t need or use. Isn’t there a saying, “The things you own can become the things that own you”? I don’t want anything to own me! I don’t want to have such a strong attachment to an article of clothing, a toy, a movie, an (insert anything here) that I can’t live without it. We want to travel light. We want the things we own to be used well and simply serve as a tool to bring glory to God. So, we definitely don’t have it all figured out, but we are working on it!

You may or may not have received our itinerary for the next few months. I am writing it below because we want to make the most of our time in each place. If we are near to you at some point before we leave the county, please give us a call or email us and we hope we can make something happen!

DSC_0518

  • Feb 9 – 27 | Move out of our house in Reno and spend time at Summit
  • Feb 28 – Mar 7 | Visit The Heights Church and Chi Alpha in AZ
  • March 8 – May 17 | MAF Standardization and Orientation
  • May 18 – June 4 | Reno
  • June 5 – 12 | Phil travels to Spokane, WA for turbine engine training
  • June 13 – 18 | Reno
  • June 19 – 30 | Cross Cultural training in MN
  • July 1 – 25 | Reno
  • July 26 – 31 | Security Training in ID
  • August 1 – 19 | Reno
  • August 23 (tentatively) | Depart for Java, Indonesia
  • September 12 | Begin language school

God Bless you and have a wonderful week!

DSC_0504

 

DSC_0512

 

DSC_0535

One thought on “Preparation

Leave a Reply

