Active In Sharing…

I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ.

– Philemon 1:6

There is something that happens when we share things with other people. If we share about a negative experience or gossip about another person, our feelings about the negative experience or person grow inside of us. The more we share, the deeper the downward spiral goes. We may even remember, or fabricate, worse things that have happened or been done to us! Conversely, when we share about good things, our positive feelings about that thing or person expand and we are reminded about more good things that have come as a blessing.

When we share our faith, even if it is with other believers, it stirs up something inside of us. It reminds us of the good things that God has done and gives us hope that God will continue to be good to us. Jessica and I were talking about the blessings that God has given to us and she said, “It is only His goodness and grace that have given us these things.” As I thought about what she said, my first thought was, “Oh no. When is it going to end?” Then, I stopped myself and thought, “If He has been this good so far, and I already don’t deserve any of it, why would He not continue to be good?” That was an uplifting moment for me!

As we are on the topic of sharing good things, I wanted to share about a two times in the past few weeks when I was blessed to share the wonder of flight!

Nathan is the son of my neighbor’s good friends. My neighbor’s friends talked to me about taking their son for an airplane ride because he is interested in becoming a pilot. Things finally worked out for us to fly on a Sunday afternoon, so we met at the Stead airport and I gave him a quick overview of the airplane and a pre-flight inspection. I let him sit in the left seat, the captain’s seat, and we started the engine! He had a blast!!! He pretty much flew the plane the entire time. He took off (though I controlled the throttle and the nose direction) and he flew us all the way to Tahoe, Spanish Springs, and back to Stead. We did a few maneuvers and he couldn’t stop smiling!

One of my favorite things to do is take up first-timers and let them experience flight in a small airplane. It is special because they can do whatever they want and discover how to maneuver a small plane. I know the limitations and most beginners won’t even go near the edge of envelope when trying to see what the plane can do! Nathan had a great time and it made for a memorable 14th birthday present. He gave me a thank-you card and told me that it was the best birthday present he had ever received.

The next weekend, I took up another 14 year old who is interested in becoming a pilot. Dylan’s parents told me that he has never shown any interest in anything, so when he said he wanted to become a pilot his parents jumped at the chance to help him experience flying and to learn as much as he could to become a pilot! I met Dylan and his father out at the Stead airport and we did a pre-flight before hopping in the plane. We started the engine and away we went! He flew us over the lake and tried some steep turns. He was less reserved than most beginners and had us at a 60 degree bank during one turn! After we landed, his first question was, “When can we go again?” That is what I like to hear!

It is so much fun to share with others and to bring them into an experience that you have had. It is like so many things in life. Going to the movies or an amusement park is not as much fun when we are alone. Can you imagine riding a roller coaster all by yourself? You get off and you want to be able to say, “Did you see that? Wasn’t that awesome?” That is why it is so much fun to share flying with others! That is also why it is so much fun to share Christ with others! It is my prayer that we can follow Paul’s prayer and be active in sharing our faith! For it is by sharing the good news that we can deepen our understanding of all the good things that we have in Christ!

Amen!!!

For those who like to pray, here are some ways you can pray for us!!!

  1. Pray for Jessica as we have 5 weeks until baby #3, Solomon John, is born. Pray for a safe delivery and comfort as the last few weeks are the most uncomfortable and tiresome for mommy.
  2. Pray that I can continue to work hard and not grow weary as I wake up at 3:10 am to work at Trader Joe’s.
  3. Pray that we will be active in sharing our faith and making the most of every opportunity!

Thanks so much!!!

Image
Sharing a sucker!!!
Leave a Reply

