Believe…

Crunchy Smile
Crunchy Smile

Why, oh why, do I lack faith in God? It cannot be explained. There is no excuse. I don’t know the reason. I just know that I still worry, I still let anxiety get to me. Let me explain…

This last week brought a number of stresses/to-do’s to my life. As you may know, we are headed up to Nampa, ID to do a 2-week try-out with MAF on January 14th. There is a bunch of paperwork that needed to be completed. Now, our whole family has to get comprehensive physicals before we can try-out with MAF because they need to know that there aren’t any medical red flags that would hinder our living in a third world country. I also need to get some more flight time in before the try-out so that I can perform to the best of my abilities during the try-out. I tried to fly with an individual who has access to a plane, but the weather over Christmas was too poor and now the plane is up for an annual inspection! In addition to this, we are looking for a place to live, trying to nail down a job, and trying to live life! Whew…

So, I had a bit of stress and was feeling overwhelmed. It is probably understandable why I was so stressed out and anxious. But, the truth is that this a problem in my thinking not an understandable fact of life!

I have seen a trailer for a movie called, “After Earth.” In this movie, set to come out later this year, Will Smith and and his son crash land on a planet, which turns out to be Earth, and they face a number of dangers. At the end of the trailer, Will Smith tells his son, “You have to remember, fear is not real. It is a product of the thoughts you create. Don’t misunderstand me. Danger is very real. But fear is a choice.”

This seems to resonate with me as I think about worry. Worry is not real unless I make it real. There are going to be hard situations in life and stressful times, but we have the choice! We can wallow in worry and be held captive by anxiety, or we can choose to believe that God is who He says He is and He will do what He says He will do!

I am called to take every thought captive and make it obedient to Christ. (II Cor 10:5) Do I believe the lie or live by faith?

I wish I could speak for every day, but today I will walk by faith!

Christmas Cookies!!!
Christmas Cookies!!!
Playing in the Snow!!!
Playing in the Snow!!!
"You can't eat snow, Daddy!" "Yes you can!" "Ooo, that's cold."
“You can’t eat snow, Daddy!” “Yes you can!” “Ooo, that’s cold.”
Yum!!!
Yum!!!
Lina and Cooper
Lina and Cooper
Winter Wonderland
Winter Wonderland

 

4 thoughts on “Believe…

  1. Your family is so precious. Thank you for continuing to share you life with us so we know specifically how to pray. Your “normal” concerns and worries help us all know that we need to rely on God continually. Love you guys!

  2. POWERFUL,TRUTH,POTENTIAL,VICTORIOUS LIVING

    Phil. These are the thoughts that come to me after reading your message to ME today. I live in regular danger and risk and almost never worry ,I like to say I’m really living by faith…Really..but not presumpchuisly ..(hmm how to spell?) then there’s the freakie things that happen and we lose our lives and go to heaven or get sick or become quadriplegic and have to live with I there untill we go. All in all we have to know we are His and He’s ours and He’s SOVERIGN so let’s go. So ,man way to go.i love your expressions of reality and openness ,
    If you were a little closer ,I’d have you here tomorrow to fly with me in the 180. We just got back to South Carolina from Alaska. Waiting for our Russian buddy to arrive next week to finish up instrument rating.
    When you get to Nampa , first on your list needs to be Dave and Krissie Rask good friends and connected with us through his son Evan who works for us at Last Frontier Air Ventures.
    Well I’m praying for you today, and greatful for your thoughts
    Blessings
    Dwayne

  3. The “FORCE” is with you young Padawan. We are to believe in what we know, not what we feel or see. Human kind… forever the student, right?
    Glad you came to all of the right conclusions my brother! Also glad you have a wonderful woman who’s tapped into the “FORCE” as well. I bet she makes a good sounding board.
    Love and prayers commin’ at cha!
    The Calloway-Bowden Family

Leave a Reply

