The Prospect…

After Adelina's First Haircut
After Adelina’s First Haircut

Why is it that I always want to arrive at my destination as quick as possible? I am certainly a part of the microwave generation! I don’t like to wait. If there is something on the horizon then I want it NOW! It is similar to how I hike. I usually just put my head down and walk as fast as I can in order to get to where I am going. I have gone on beautiful hikes and pretty much all I looked at was the ground at my feet until we got to the end!!! This is not the best way to hike and this is not always the best way to live. I am going to miss a lot along the way if I feel like I am just waiting to arrive at the destination.

Jess and I are faced with the prospect of living in Reno for at least the next year until we can serve as missionaries (as long as we are accepted by MAF). My immediate reaction is, “Another year!!! We already spent a year in Michigan finishing my mechanic training. Then, we spent this last fall traveling. Now we have to spend another year trying out with MAF and hopefully raising support?” But, I don’t want to miss it. I don’t want to miss what God may want to do in me, or miss any opportunity to be a light where I am. What is it to me or to God if it takes a little longer than I had expected? How long did Abraham and Sarah wait for a child? How long did the Israelites serve as slaves in Egypt? How long did they wander in the desert? How long did David wait to become king? How long did Jesus live before he began to minister?

Since I am not at the destination, I want to make the most of my time wherever I am. God is here and He wants to meet with me. The thing that matters is not what I do for God or how long we serve with MAF. The thing that matters is cultivating a relationship with God! What relief! What freedom! I am excited about what this next year will bring. I get to find a job in a secular environment and get some more experience as a mechanic. I hope to do some more flying and become a better pilot. We get to spend more time at our home church and hang out with people we love. And, no matter where we live, I have the privilege of meeting with God on a daily basis! Hallelujah!

So, we have turned in our application with MAF and they are looking at our references. We look forward to hearing from them this week! I have three leads for airplane mechanic jobs (one in Stead, one in Reno, and one in Carson) and I have the opportunity to log some serious (and free) flight time at the end of December. We also have some ideas about a place to live. We are grateful to God!

Thank you so much for all of your prayers. If you have a chance, please pray for us this Thursday through the weekend. We will be traveling to Ohio for one of our best friend’s weddings. Pray that the kids travel and adjust well. Pray also that we would be a blessing to our friend. Thanks so much!!!

Hard to Ship
Hard to Ship
Flying Bear
Flying Bear
Playing with Aunt Lynnae
Playing with Aunt Lynnae

 

 

One thought on “The Prospect…

Leave a Reply

