Seek Me…

In these weeks after receiving the news we have been asking, “Where is God leading?” I am tempted to make this the focus of all my quiet times and prayer times. “God, what is your will for our lives? What is the plan?”

This is not the right approach. I was reading in Oswald Chamber’s “My Utmost For His Highest” and I was struck by the entry on October 18th.

“The key to the missionary’s devotion is that he is attached to nothing and to no one except our Lord Himself…The duty of a faithful missionary is to concentrate on keeping his soul completely and continually open to the nature of the Lord Jesus Christ. The men and women our Lord sends out on His endeavors are ordinary human people, but people who are controlled by their devotion to Him, which has been brought about through the work of the Holy Spirit.”

I realized that I should not spend my time seeking God’s will! My job is to seek GOD!!! Correct me if I am wrong, but I cannot recall any time in which we are commanded to seek God’s will. However, over and over I see the command to seek God and draw near to Him. God will make His will known, but my job is to seek Him and draw near to Him. It goes back to seeking the blessing instead of the giver of the blessing.

So, for now we will rest on the promise of Isaiah 30:15 and 18. “In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength…the LORD longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion. For the LORD is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!” Hallelujah!!!

This doesn’t mean that we are just sitting at home and doing nothing! I am going to be taking two trips over the next two weeks to check out some ministry opportunities. I will be visiting a college ministry in Arizona this week and traveling to Idaho to visit MAF next week. Please pray that God would make it clear where He is leading! Also, please pray for Jessica and the kids as they will be without me for quite a few days. Pray that they would settle in to a schedule and have great moments together.

We have been completely overwhelmed by the love and support that we have received over the past few weeks. Thank you for joining your faith with ours! We look forward to letting you know where God leads! Amen!

3 thoughts on “Seek Me…

  1. You are right on target with this post about seeking God. In seeking Him alone, His will for you will become clear. All He wants is our faithfulness and obedience, He provides everything else and His timing is perfect.

Leave a Reply

