It Is Well…

Happy Birthday

One of my favorite hymns is “It is Well.” The hymn was written by Horatio Spafford after four of his daughters died when their ship sunk while crossing the Atlantic. The hymn details a variety of situations and circumstances, even stating, “Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, It is well, It is well with my soul.”

These next two weeks are the last two weeks that I have to prepare for the Technical Evaluation (try-out) with JAARS. I have been studying almost every day, volunteering at a local maintenance shop, and doing whatever I can to get ready for the try-out process. The rest of the time has been spent getting reconnected at our home church and trying to get settled here in Reno. (We still have a number of boxes that haven’t been opened!)

As I drove home from volunteering at the maintenance shop today, I was listening to Phil Wickham and “It is Well” came on loud and clear. It was just what I needed to hear. As I think about the try-out, I get extremely excited and somewhat nervous all at once. One minute I can’t wait to get to Waxhaw, NC and dive right in. The next minute I wonder, “Am I ready for this? Do I remember how to do that?” In the midst of my roller coaster the peace of God can always break through. Regardless of what happens, it is well with my soul. God is with us. He has brought us this far. He has laid out the path and we must simply walk in faith. I am certain that His will shall be done and I can rest in that.

Yum, Solid Food!!!

We celebrated Jessica’s 30th birthday this last week. Wahoo! We had a great time hanging out as a family and letting Jessica know how much we love her. Jess got to be at Summit for all 4 services and give a communion meditation on the importance of gratitude. It has been such fun being back at Summit and seeing so many people. (I know that I said this last week but we keep on seeing more and more people that we know!!!)

Please keep us in your prayers as we get ready for the Technical Evaluation with JAARS. We fly to NC on October 3rd, the Technical Evaluation starts on October 8th and goes through October 19th, and then we get the results on October 20th! Thank you so much!!!

Cake is Yummy!
Happy Girls
One thought on “It Is Well…

  1. Happy belated birthday Jessica! It was great to see you both at church this weekend and chat with Jessica for a few minutes. I am so excited for the two of you and will definitely keep Phil in my prayers for his technical evaluation. We are so priviliged that you two have shared this whole experience with us. I love how I can talk about the two of you to family and friends and share with them a real life example of how adventurous life can be for those who love the Lord!

Leave a Reply

