Sacrifice…

A lovely day in Reno

Have you ever heard the phrase, “Give ’til it hurts?” I had the opportunity to get away last Friday night and spend time at a retreat. The word that God impressed on my heart was sacrifice. I was able to examine my life and ask if I have lived a sacrificial life, or if I have been giving and living out of the abundance, the excess in my life.

You might be thinking, “Come on Phil, you and your family are planning on leaving the US to serve as missionaries. Wouldn’t you call that sacrificial?”

My answer is yes and no. Yes, it is going to be a huge change and it is going to stretch us in big ways. But, I know there are other ways to be sacrificial and God is always calling me to greater devotion to Him. In fact, His call is for all of me, my hopes and dreams, possessions and future, yes, even my heart, mind, body, and soul!

As I examined my life, I know there is more to give. Even though it may hurt at the time, I am looking forward to the growth and freedom that occur when we obey and submit ourselves to God. I don’t know what this is going to look like, and I can’t answer it for you, but I am excited to spend more time with Jessica and see how we can trim the fat in our lives and give ourselves extravagantly for the Kingdom of God.

________________________________________________

We were able to visit our home church for the first time since last September! What a GREAT time! It was wonderful to see so many friendly and familiar faces. We were encouraged to see all of friends. We were blessed by the worship and the message. We were blessed by the hugs and handshakes. God is GOOD!!!

(Sorry that there are not more pictures. I just found the battery charger for our camera and there will be more next week!)

3 thoughts on “Sacrifice…

  1. What a beautiful picture. It was great seeing and spending time with you this past weekend. I can’t wait to see Jess (so loving the hair), Adelina, and meeting Jeremiah.

  2. Good to see you again. Hope to see the rest of the family soon. Really enjoyed the conversations at the tables, it was a great time!

  3. I think you are giving extravagantly for the kingdom. Yes, it is sacrifical to leave the country and serve as missionaries. It is a high calling that you and Jessica are answering. I hope you don’t underestimate how big of a sacrifice it may be. Thank you for going! And above all else, may I encourage you to continue in your love for one another. Jesus wants us to go and bear fruit that will last; and He gave us a command, “Love one another” (John 15: 16,17); and Paul wrote that you could give everything, even your body to be burned, but if you don’t have love, there is no gain (1 Corinthians 13: 3). May you be blessed abundantly as you go forth in His love. Lula

Leave a Reply

