Never Too Late…

Two Wonderful Children

As I reflect on this last year spent in Ionia, MI and think about the people that we will be saying good-bye to and we are going through the process of packing up or selling our stuff, I can see with vivid clarity that there are only a few things in life that matter. My fondest memories are the days that I spent playing with my family, meeting our neighbors, and working and joking with the other students. I can see even more clearly how easy it is to live without the “stuff” that daily vies for my attention. I know that we have and will continue to give up a lot of things that we are accustomed to having in order to pursue the calling that God has on our lives. We will be saying good-bye, or see you later, to friends and family only to make new friends as we journey to far off lands.

Little Climber Girl

Then, as I think about the prospect of uprooting our family and all of the rigmarole that will follow, I can’t help but think that this is exactly where we are supposed to be. We are confident that God is calling our family into overseas mission work and we will obey no matter the cost. I know that not every person is called to the same work, but I am confident that God has a calling for everyone. And, the best news about this is that it is never too late to surrender to God and say, “What would you have me do?”

I don’t know if you have been following our adventure or if this is the first time that you have read this blog. Either way, I want to encourage you with the fact that God is not done with you yet. Abraham and Sarah were “as good as dead” (as the NIV puts it) and yet God gave them a son. You may have known that God has a calling for you, yet you have put it off and put it off until just the “right time.” My friend, that time is now! Forget everything that lies behind and press on toward the calling that lies ahead!!!

Thank you for journeying with us so far. We are blessed to have so many friends to come along with us. We are packing up our apartment and will be on the road this coming Sunday. We will keep blogging and keeping you posted on where we are going and what God is doing!

Please pray for safe travels, God to speak through us and encourage people as we talk to churches and individuals about what God has called us to do, and for refreshment as we have finished school and will begin a very busy Fall as we try out with JAARS in October!

Packing Up!!!
Boxes EVERYWHERE!!!

 

8 thoughts on “Never Too Late…

  1. Phil & Jessica,
    It’s been such an encouragement to us to see how God is using you as you surrender to his will. We are excited as you apply to Jarr’s for this next phase of your life. Know that are prayers are with you.
    Ric & Carol

  2. Thank you for the encouragement to all of us to press on toward our own calling… It’s just what I needed to hear.
    Enjoy your upcoming road trip – many more fond memories are about to be made! The Vana fam is in our prayers 🙂

  3. It’s been really enjoyable following your lives on your blog. Godspeed on your travels and can’t wait til you return to Reno.

  4. Hi Phil,
    Not only have I not been following your blog, this is the first blog I have ever read. Your mom and I talked this summer, catching up on our children. Kristin is now pregnant with her fourth child, and Michael (Oct.) and Katie (June) both got married this past year. When your mom told me about you, she said she would pass your blog on. I would like to continue reading about your journey. You have a beautiful family. I will be praying for you and thank you for the reminder that God’s plan for our lives must come first.
    God be with you in all pursuits!!

    1. Donna

      Thanks so much for writing to us. I am glad that you were finally able to check our blog out. It is good to hear about your kids and I am glad that they are all doing well! I look forward to hearing more from you and staying in touch! Have a great day and God Bless.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

