Lil’ Worshiper…

Just hanging out

This last weekend I had one of my favorite moments with Adelina. You see, Adelina loves to sing and dance to worship songs. We have a kids worship DVD and Adelina will sing along and do the movements that accompany the song. (The first time we played the DVD I cried because I thought about how awesome it will be when she understands everything that she is singing about!) There are times when Jessica or I will scoop Adelina up into our arms and dance to various worship songs. We have also started to teach Adelina Bible memory verses. Jessica suggested that we memorize Scripture during the week and recite it on Saturday morning. So, Adelina has her verses complete with hand motions and she knows them quite well. Every Sunday, as we drive to church, we will play worship songs and Adelina will say, “Yay Jesus!”

So, yesterday at church I was walking Adelina down to her kid’s classroom but she didn’t want to go in. She said, “Worship Jesus. Sing songs.” She was telling me that she wanted to join us in the main service and sing worship songs. I happily told her that she could join us and then we would go play with the kids after we sang to Jesus. We walked into the sanctuary and up to the second row. (Adelina likes it loud!) I held her the entire time and we sang worship songs. She doesn’t know the songs but she loves to worship Jesus. This weekend was special because, when I raised my hand during one of the songs, Adelina raised both of her hands. She was praising God in my arms and it was beautiful. My heart was so full it could’ve burst. There are only a few things that I want out of life and one of those things is for my children to experience God and spend their entire lives following Jesus.

Dye Penetrant

There are just over 2 months of school left! I can’t believe how much I have already learned, and I can’t believe that there is so much more that I have yet to learn. It is true what our teachers have said about our mechanic’s license. “It is a license to learn.” As we continue to work on our engine overhaul projects, I have found that there are a number of things that aren’t working out as well as we had hoped. The primary example of this is when we had to inspect the crankcase. The crankcase is made of cast aluminum and is subject to a lot of stress, heat, and vibration every time it operates. It is necessary to inspect the crankcase for cracks because these can lead to failure of the engine. One of the primary ways to inspect the crankcase is a Dye Penetrant Test. The part is thoroughly cleaned with a prescribed cleaner and then sprayed with a florescent dye. The dye is allowed to sit on the part and will soak into any cracks or other surface defects. After 10-15 minutes, the part is then cleaned to remove any excess dye. This is the tricky part. You can’t spray directly onto the part because it could clean out the cracks. And a crankcase isn’t like cleaning a window or the top of a table. There are all sorts of nooks and crannies. Our teacher said, “When you think you have cleaned it all up, clean it some more.” Well, we didn’t exactly clean up all of the dye. So, we sprayed the “developer” on the crankcase and put it under a blacklight. Almost the entire crankcase was green! WHAT!?! I thought we cleaned it! We didn’t end up finding any cracks but we learned a valuable lesson. (And we learned to appreciate the shops who specialize in the Dye Penetrant Test)

Still learning and having a blast here in Michigan! Have a great week!

One thought on “Lil’ Worshiper…

  1. oooh, I can so hear the beginnings of a “sermon note” in that story–sin is like the dye in your crankcase……you think you’ve cleaned it all up, and Wham!!
    Seriously, Phil, we miss you and your family. The blogs (and pics!!) help, but we will be glad to see you when God allows you to be here. You remain in our prayers; glad God is continuing to bless you all!
    Chris Loar

Leave a Reply

