Rest…

The “Ocean”

I need rest. I used to think that I could go, go, go and I would be fine. Have you ever heard the phrase, “I’ll rest when I die?” I never said it quite like that, probably because I didn’t plan on resting then either! I don’t exactly know why but I know that God has made us to require rest. He set an example when he made everything as we know it and then rested on the seventh day. The only problem is that I often do not know how to rest. If I only get two days off, then I want to make the most of the days! But I have found the beauty in rest, the beauty in not planning anything and allowing the day to come to me. I don’t think that rest means to not do anything, though it can. One definition of rest might be doing something that restores your body and soul. I like the way that the NLT translates Jesus’ explanation of the Sabbath (rest) day in Mark 2:27, “The Sabbath was made to meet the needs of people…”

Hay Ride

My family needs rest, we need restoration, and this weekend was perfect! We went to the local state park which includes the above lake, we ventured back to Mooville (a local dairy farm) for bounce houses and a tractor/hay-ride, and we spent plenty of time resting at home.

Big Sister

Jeremiah continues to grow. We can’t believe that he is already 2 months old! It is also mind-boggling to think that there are only 2 and 1/2 months to go before school is over.

We just finished talking about induction and exhaust systems and we are now moving on to lubrication. Did you know that supersonic air flow does not act the same as subsonic airflow? Sometimes supersonic airflow does exactly the opposite thing that subsonic airflow does! For instance, when you constrict subsonic airflow to go through a small opening, the pressure and temperature will decrease while the velocity of the air increases. But, when you constrict supersonic airflow, the pressure and temperature will increase and the velocity will decrease. This makes for some crazy flight characteristics for jet aircraft. Unfortunately, I will not be flying anywhere near supersonic when flying as a missionary.

Lil man with his Mom

I hope that you all had a restful weekend. May the Lord restore you each day as you spend time in His presence.

And, thank you to all of you veterans and family of veterans. You have all given so much and we are grateful for your sacrifice. Thank you.

Jeremiah
4 thoughts on “Rest…

  1. This is so interesting as I was just contemplating rest as well. I heard of a man who only needed 3-4 hours of sleep per night and wondered why I seemed to need so much more sleep. I have not figured the answer but I do know that I am determined to use the time well when I am awake so that sleep is well-deserved. Thank you for musings and for the lovely pictures of my grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

