Legacy…

What is your legacy? What will remain of the life you live? The church that we are attending is going through a series on Heaven. This last week, the message was about making the most of your life. It was interesting because I was thinking about what my classmates would remember most about me at the end of the school year. Would I be someone that helped and supported others? Would I be known for doing well in school? Would I be known for making others laugh and/or being a distraction? Would I be known as someone who is respectful and humble? Would I be known as prideful? It was a sobering thought, and God brought the point home with a Scripture this weekend…

For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have—Jesus Christ. Anyone who builds on that foundation may use a variety of materials—gold, silver, jewels, wood, hay, or straw. But on the judgment day, fire will reveal what kind of work each builder has done. The fire will show if a person’s work has any value. If the work survives, that builder will receive a reward. But if the work is burned up, the builder will suffer great loss. The builder will be saved, but like someone barely escaping through a wall of flames.

– I Corinthians 3:11-15

We are all building with our lives. Am I building something that is a worthy testimony for God? Is my life building with gold, silver, and jewels? Or, am I wasting my time with useless things, building a house using wood, hay, and straw? It would be easy to say, “Oh, don’t worry. We have moved our entire family to be missionaries. That should be good enough.” But, that is not enough. God wants it all. He wants all of my life, all of my heart, all of my mind, and all of my affections. And, He cares about all of the small choices and acts of love. How well am I loving my family? How well am I representing Christ when I drive or when I work on a project with my classmates? I know that my legacy, the house that I am building, is not based on the big, outward acts but on the small, mundane things that I perform with my eyes focused on eternity.

Happy 2nd Birthday, Adelina

In other news, we celebrated Adelina’s 2nd birthday this Sunday! She specifically asked for hot cocoa, muffins, and eggs. Mommy happily obliged! Adelina had a wonderful birthday. She was so cute! All day, she kept squealing with delight and saying, “It’s my birthday!”

The engine is apart!!!

The projects at school are going well. My engine is all apart and we are cleaning the parts so that we can thoroughly inspect them. I also finished disassembling and timing another brand of magneto. I will test it tomorrow and then mount it on a working engine and time it to the propeller. Should be fun!!!

God has been so good and we are enjoying this time as a family of four! Thank you for all of your prayers and encouraging words! We have such comfort and joy because we know that we are loved! Thank you!

Twirling in my birthday dress
Tea Party with Daddy
2 thoughts on “Legacy…

  1. Lina is adorable in her birthday dress. Such a sweet, sweet age. Jess, you look amazing. The tea party with Daddy is beyond precious. Thanks for sharing. I’m glad life is going so well for you.

Leave a Reply

