Now THAT’S Riveting…

Stick 'em up

Now, riveting is one of those things that I was nervous about trying because I thought that it would be extremely difficult. It also didn’t help that my rivet gun wasn’t hooked up to a regulator when I first started to use it. The basic premise is that the gun has a piece of metal on the end that is shaped for the type and size of rivet being driven. High pressure air flows through the gun when the trigger is pulled and it tries to shoot the piece of metal out of the gun. The spring catches the metal and pulls it back, allowing the process to start all over again! The teacher didn’t demonstrate how fast the gun should hit, but told us to place the gun against a piece of wood and pull the trigger to test it.

I didn’t know what I was looking for when I tested it, so I pulled the trigger and my piece of metal shot out so fast it bent the spring and almost flew into the next booth!!! Is that supposed to happen? Nope! I showed the teacher and he said, “Wow, now that’s a rivet gun!” Unfortunately, I had already tried to rivet a whole row of rivets with a gun that was trying to blow a hole through the sheet metal! On the first attempt, the rivet gun came off the rivet and put some large dents across my piece of metal. I showed my gun to another instructor and we found my regulator and slowed the gun down. Now, I think I’ve got the hang of it. See for yourself on this video!!!

We had a full week over the last seven days. I attended a men’s “Steak Night” at our church, attended a leader’s vision meeting the next night, Jessica started her new swim class at the YMCA, and then it snowed 6 inches. We had a late start for school on Friday and I got to spend a few more hours with the family!!! Wahoo! Adelina doesn’t really know what to think about snow (Which she enthusiastically pronounces “no”, but imagine that she blows air out of her nose before saying “no”. Priceless!!!)

I'm not touching that! It's cold!!! (Pronounced "Tolk")

Jess and I are participating in a church-wide effort to read the New Testamant by Easter. We are using a Bible called “The Books of the Bible” by Biblica. In this book, the New Testament is arranged chronologically without chapters, verses, section headings, or notes. The idea is to read the New Testament in a way that is similar to how it was written in the 1st century. The hope is that there will be new things that jump off the page, and that the story can be seen with fresh eyes! It is an exciting challenge and a great way for us to read the Word together!

Thank you once again for all of your prayers. God has been so gracious to us and we continue to praise Him for the great things He has done, is doing, and will do in the days, months, and years to come! Hallelujah!!!

We're not messing around at STEAK NIGHT!!! Yes, that is a Hunting Knife!
5 thoughts on “Now THAT’S Riveting…

  1. Good job riveting! No judging since I have no clue but looked good in my opinion.
    Got a bit of snow too, which became snow cones for Ryenn and Taytem. Yummy!
    I started a chronological Bible plan too so Genesis, Job, and back to Genesis. I noticed the New Testament really jumps around. Can’t wait!!
    Praying for you all. Thanks for the update

Leave a Reply

