It just keeps getting better and better…

Hike in the State Park

We have had a great start to this new year. After returning from Mississippi we have found a groove for our family and we feel like we are in a sweet spot. School is going well and I continue to learn a great deal each day. An interesting thing about being an airplane mechanic is that all of the systems and components are fairly basic. There are different variables and components that can change the system, but it doesn’t change the way the system works. When I first came to school I was worried because everything seems so complicated, but God has been gracious and the “complex” systems are making sense. For example, electricity is making sure that there is a closed circuit through which current can flow. The hydraulic system is simply a pump, usually engine-driven, that either moves fluid to one side a piston or the other.

All of our Fabric Projects

In addition to school going well, we are getting great time as a family. Jessica continues to bless and encourage me as she is teaching Adelina her ABC’s and 123’s, keeping our house spick and span, and preparing breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I do not know how Jessica, let alone the many other moms I know, can balance all of this and do it so well. My hat is off to you! And, because Jessica is working so hard, it allows our family to spend time together when I come home from school. We have gone on hikes in the Ionia State Park (the weather has been very mild which I don’t mind a bit!), we have spent more time at the Grand Rapids Children’s museum (Adelina has started to sing and she often sings about the museum, Elmo, and her high chai!), and we have visited the indoor pool.

At the time of writing this post I find myself overwhelmed with gratitude; grateful for the grace and provision of God; grateful for all of you who are praying and keeping up with us here in Michigan; grateful for the opportunity to attend this amazing school and work as a missionary pilot/mechanic; grateful for my wonderful family. God is SO good!

I want to leave you with a verse that has challenged me this last week…

“…those who wish to boast should boast in this alone: that they truly know me and understand that I am the LORD who demonstrates unfailing love and who brings justice and righteousness to the earth, and that I delight in these things. I, the LORD, have spoken!”

Jeremiah 9:24 (NLT)

Men's Steak and Root Beer Float night at our church
2 thoughts on “It just keeps getting better and better…

  1. Good IS so good! It is great to hear that things are going well for your family and that it is smooth sailing as you’ve found a grove that works. Jessica is amazing. I know how difficult it can be to make run a household and it sounds like she is doing an awesome job! Keep the posts coming because I always look forward to hearing from you guys. We continue to keep you all in our prayers. Blessings!

  2. Hi Phil & Jessica,
    We missed you here during the blessed Christmas season but loved getting the Christmas picture of the 3 + of you. You are right, God is more than good and has truly blessed your family with His Love and Grace. Our prayers stay with you…………………….

Leave a Reply

