Precious Moments…

Love you, Mimi

There is nothing quite like spending time with family and friends, especially when you haven’t seen one another for a little while. It may be something unique to me, but I still get giddy and excited when I see my folks. In fact, I was kept up the night before they came. It was as if I was a little kid again and I couldn’t sleep the night before Christmas because I was so excited!

Lina and Pops

As we press onward to fulfill our calling as missionaries, we realize that importance of maintaining relationships, especially with our families. Though we may soon live half a world away, we want our children to know their grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins. (And, their FarFar and FarMor, Phil’s Swedish grandparents!) This last week was such a treat because Phil’s parents drove up from North Carolina to spend Thanksgiving with us.

Thanksgiving!!!

Our friend of over a decade, Doug Ruyle, came up from Dayton, Ohio and he spent a few days with us as well. We had a rich time of fellowship, laughter, playing cards and dominoes, watching Duke basketball, showing them around our little corner of Michigan, and catching up on one another’s lives. I could tell you a number of things about how awesome Doug is and how he challenges me to be a better man, but I will simply let this picture give you a glimpse of his heart…

Doug

We had such a wonderful time and there are few things that we are as thankful for as our family and friends. God’s greatest blessings have come in the form of the people He has brought into our lives to give us encouragement and challenge us to press in to God and pour our lives out for Him. We hope that you had a blessed Thanksgiving week with plenty of things to be thankful for!

PS: I am getting this welding thing down!!!

A Lap weld, a Butt weld, and a Fillet weld

6 thoughts on “Precious Moments…

  1. Family is so precious!! I am so thankful that we live in a country where we have holidays where we are EXPECTED to gather together as a family and give thanks! How wonderful is that?!! I LOVE gathering together with my loved ones and building memories that will last a lifetime. 🙂

  2. love the photos man – can’t believe you’ve got doug in your house – you’re blessed! if doug is doin dishes things are good, really good. glad you had a great thanksgiving. we’re praying for you always.

  3. Enjoy your photos (where was all this electronics when we were on the mission field?! 🙂
    I appreciate how you are letting God use you, even as you prepare for MAF…I guess kind of the ol’ saying “Life is a journey not a destination.”
    Have a blessed Christmas,
    Ric & Carol

Leave a Reply

