The Long and Winding Road…

Don't you just love moving!!!

BAM!!! The tire popped right next to my ear!

I had just left after unloading the truck in our new place in Ionia, MI. I was driving to drop off a few things at my folks’ in North Carolina when I noticed that the trailer had a flat tire. I had already driven through Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, and some of Michigan and the trailer decided to get a flat tire. A road side assistance company had already checked the tire and couldn’t find any problems. After switching out the valve stem, my tire was going flat once more. I decided to refill the tire every 100 miles to try to make it to North Carolina and deal with it there.

On the third refill stop, the sidewall of the tire popped and I thought something had exploded nearby. Thankfully, I wasn’t hurt!!!

The tire was fixed and it turned out that the metal wheel was to blame! I drove into the night and arrived in North Carolina a little after 1 am. I met Jessica and Adelina, who were both already asleep. We had completed our move!!!

We are now recovering from our move and spending some time with my family before we begin the long year in Michigan. This year will be spent learning how to fix airplanes, growing closer as a family, preparing ourselves for missionary life, learning how to thrive in a new location, and hopefully spending a little time flying airplanes for hire!

Please pray for us as we…

  1. Look for a church where we can fellowship, grow, and serve.
  2. Start school and learn about where we are living.
  3. Desire to be a blessing and a light to the people at the school and the apartment complex where we are living.

Thank you so much and God Bless!!!

9 thoughts on “The Long and Winding Road…

  1. Blessings from the Rodriguez’ on your new adventure. We’ll be praying and looking forward to hearing more about your journey.

  2. Just had the chance to read your posts and explore your blog page. We feel priviliged to be able to read about God’s call on your lives and your answer to that call. Thank you for sharing this with us and opening your lives up to bring Glory to Jesus. It is truly an amazing story and we can’t wait to hear how God continues to work in it. We will definitely be praying for the needs that you had requested. God bless you guys!

  3. Praying for you all or as they say in some parts ya’ll, that you have no more flat tires!!! I think I see a spider on the wall over in the corner of the room, you might want to get that. Be blessed and safe. The Faigin’s

  4. Phil and Jess,
    I am excited for the both of you. I apologize for not being able to say good-bye. I had to have emergency surgery for my third knee replacement because they thought it was infected..it wasn’t, but I hae a new knee.

    You are talented, smart, incredible parents, and your love for the Lord is evident to all! Then, once you add in the beautiful love you have for each other and for your daughter, Adelina…well…let’s just say, it a romance novel in the purest sense!

    I am honored to uphold you in prayer. But, I am quite sure you are already “blessing and a light to the people at the school and the apartment complex where we are living.”

    Your sister in Christ,
    Kathy Frisby

  5. Heavenly Father I humbly come before you raising Phil, Jessica and Adelina in prayer. Watch over them Lord and bless them with abundant peace as they continue on this amazing journey.. Please help them along the way as they continue their work in your name. I pray this in the sweet blessed name of Jesus. Amen.

  6. We are so excited for you guys (love the characture of you guys in the plaine!)
    Have already been praying for you and will continue to do so.
    One thing I would recommend is that you print out copies of all your emails, kinda modern day version of a diary. Ric and I look back at amazement just from the weekly reports that we sent into Wycliffe’s office since we kept copies of each…..seeing how the Lord was so faithful during out time with WA.
    God’s blessings,
    Carol & Ric

  7. Your picture says it all! Soon, this apartment will be home, organized and decorated “Vana” style. Praying for you and glad you made it safely.

Leave a Reply

